NFU v Vauxhall Motors FA Cup 3Q

North Ferriby United 2-2 Vauxhall Motors


Vauxhall Motors 2NFU 2  

North Ferriby came from two goals down to take Vauxhall to a replay, the least the home side deserved after out-playing their higher-division opponents for much of the game.

 Gary Bradshaw twice nearly put Ferriby ahead in the opening 20 minutes, heading onto the roof of the net from Russell Fry's cross and half-volleying a loose ball against the post.  However, it was the visitors who took the lead against the run of play on 24 minutes, Craig Mahon found Obi Anorou in the box after a good run, and the striker turned and fired past Steve Wilson in the Ferriby goal.  The hosts pressured for an equaliser, with Vauxhall keeper Scott Tynan blocking Bradshaw's shot from close range and catching Fry's curling lob.

 Ferriby continued their pressure in the second period, with Tynan smothering from Chris Bolder, but found themselves two down on 55 minutes when Ben Turner was adjudged to have handballed in the box and Joshua Wilson sent his namesake the wrong way from the spot.  However, the Evo-Stik Premier side's persistence paid off on 60 minutes when Wayne Brooksby's shot deflected beyond Tynan off a Vauxhall defender.  Anorou and Paul Brown came close for Vauxhall, but Ferriby got their deserved leveller on 77 minutes, a delightful solo run by Fry which culminated in him rounding the keeper and coolly slotting home.  Chris White nearly completed a fantastic comeback minutes from time, but slid his effort wide from Tom Matthews' cross.

 Star Man: Russell Fry (North Ferriby)

North Ferriby scorers: Brooksby (60), Fry (77)

 Vauxhall scorers: Anorou (24), Wilson (pen 55)

 Attendance: 369

 Ferriby: Steve Wilson, Tom Matthews, Kevin Larvin, Sam Denton, Ben Turner, Wayne Brooksby, Paul Harsley, Alex Davidson (Chris White, 83), Chris Bolder, Gary Bradshaw, Russell Fry  Subs not used: Peter Davidson, Ben Morley, Gareth Owen, Ben Hallam

 Vauxhall: Scott Tynan, Chris Noone, Lee Dames, Tom Hannigan (George Mboa, 19), Robert Marsh-Evans, Keith Smith (Anthony Wright, 81), Craig Mahon, Neil Price, Obi Anorou, Joshua Wilson, Paul Brown  Subs not used: Jonathan Egerton, Carl McCauley, Jonathan Ritchie