NFU 1 Matlock Town 1 (Evo Prem)

North Ferriby United   1   Matlock Town  1

Matlock started more brightly and Ian holmes went close with a first minute header. Matlock had most of the play in the first ten minutes  but were unable to create any clear cut chances.

Ferriby gradually began to take control in midfield. A lack of accuracy with their passing meant they created no clear-cut chances

Matlock took the lead slightly againt the run of play in the 21st minute. The ball was played into the Ferriby penalty area and Ian Holmes fired home through a group of players.

Ferriby continued to exert the more pressure but could still not find a way through.

Matlock almost doubled their lead in the 38th minute when Gareth Davies' shot hit the post and bounced into keeper Steve Wilson's hands.

Ferriby virtually dominated the second half. Lee Morris had a good game up front, holding-up and controlling the ball well.

Jon Kennedy saved well from Russell Fry and a Chris Bolder header went narrowly over the bar.

Matlock's attacks were sporadic and depended largely on long balls out of defence. Holme' speculative cross-shot almost doubled the visitors's lead.

Kennedy saved well from Bradshaw in the 76th minute. Ferriby finally got the goal they deserved in the 77th minute when Fry shot home after the ball bounced around the Matlock area.

Matlock responded when Liam King shot narrowly wide.

The final chances fell to Ferriby with Bolder firing over and Gary Bradshaw shooting at the keeper.

Ferriby will probably be disappointed to have only got a point from a game they largely dominated.

Goals: NFU: Russell Fry 77
Goals: Matlock Town: Ian Holmes 21

Attendance: 214

Man of the Match: Gregg Anderson

NFU: Steve Wilson, Steve Gardner (James Williams81), Kevin Larvin, Nathan Peat, Gregg Anderson,  Chris Bolder (c), Wayne Brooksby, Russell Fry, Lee Morris , Gary Bradshaw,   Danny Clarke. Subs not used: Dominic Riordan, Tim Taylor, Sam Belcher,  Rob Moy

Matlock Town: Jon Kennedy, Mickey Harcourt, Laurence Gaughan, Liam King, Adam Yates, James Lukic, Gareth Davies, Kris Bowler, Ian Holmes, Tyeisse Nightingale (Liam Wilkin 79), Ben Algar. Subs not used: Chris Bettney, Lee Featherstone, Craig Nelthorpe, Nick Buxton